Southampton v Liverpool Match Preview

Capital One Cup - Southampton v Liverpool Match Preview

Southampton vs Liverpool Match Preview, Free Sports Bets, Tips, Predictions and Offers.

Wednesday evening Capital One Cup action comes from St Mary’s and you can view the whole game Live on Sky Sports 1 High Definition, with a scheduled 19:45pm (GMT) Kick Off Time.

Southampton v Liverpool Match Preview

Southampton were in tremendous form as they went on an eight game unbeaten streak but that was ended by Stoke in an unexpected home defeat for Southampton, and then that was followed up by a defeat to Manchester City at the Etihad Stadium meaning that they are going into this game on a two game losing streak.

I expect Ronald Koeman to send out a strong team here because if Southampton can navigate their way past Liverpool, they will be into the semi-finals and will have a great chance of progressing into the final.

Jurgen Klopp seems to have got Liverpool playing the way he likes and they have started to put in some quality performances, mainly the away victories over Chelsea and Manchester City. They have now won six of their last seven matches and since Jurgen Klopp’s arrival, the team have lost just one match from ten. He has been playing strong teams in the Europa League and I fully expect him to play a full-strength side in this match.

Liverpool’s new style suits playing away from home as they allow the opposition to have the majority of the ball but they press very high and this has served them well so far with three wins and a draw in the four away matches Jurgen Klopp has managed.

Southampton Latest Team News:

Southampton are expected to rest Jose Fonte after he was forced off against Manchester City on the weekend but Graziano Pelle should return to the team after missing the game on the weekend through suspension. Southampton will be without Jay Rodriguez who is ruled out until January.

Liverpool Latest Team News:

The big news for Liverpool at the moment is that both Daniel Sturridge ad Jordan Henderson came off the bench against Swansea on the weekend which could see them both make their first start here for a while. Liverpool could also see the return of Coutinho and Lucas in this match as Coutinho was rested with a hamstring injury and Lucas was suspended for the match on the weekend.

Southampton vs Liverpool Head to Head Statistics

25/10/15 BPL Liverpool vs Southampton 1 : 1
22/02/15 BPL Southampton vs Liverpool 0 : 2
17/08/14 BPL Liverpool vs Southampton 2 : 1
01/03/14 BPL Southampton vs Liverpool 0 : 3
21/09/13 BPL Liverpool vs Southampton 0 : 1

These two premiership sides have met 85 times with Liverpool beating Southampton in 42 of those matches whilst losing just 24 giving them the edge going into this one.

But in the 42 meetings that have taken place in Southampton, the home side have been the better with 19 wins to Liverpool’s 13.

Using head to head statistics alone it would suggest that either team could win this particular fixture but the fact that Southampton have the home advantage, they have a slightly better chance of beating Liverpool in this game.

Southampton Recent Form

28/11/15 BPL Manchester City vs Southampton 3 : 1
21/11/15 BPL Southampton vs Stoke 0 : 1
07/11/15 BPL Sunderland vs Southampton 0 : 1
01/11/15 BPL Southampton vs Bournemouth 2 : 0
28/10/15 CAP Southampton vs Aston Villa 2 : 1

Southampton are in decent form with three wins and two losses in their last five games but with those losses both coming in their last two games, their confidence will be relatively low going into this match.

Liverpool Recent Form

29/11/15 BPL Liverpool vs Swansea 1 : 0
26/11/15 EUR Liverpool vs Bordeaux 2 : 1
21/11/15 BPL Manchester City vs Liverpool 1 : 4
08/11/15 BPL Liverpool vs Crystal Palace 1 : 2
05/11/15 EUR Rubin Kazan vs Liverpool 0 : 1

Liverpool are in strong form heading into this game with four wins in five, they have put that 2-1 defeat to bogey team Crystal Palace behind them and have now won three straight matches including an emphatic away victory over Manchester City.

Southampton vs Liverpool Average Goals Per Game Statistics

In the 85 matches that have taken place between these two sides, there has been a total of 225 goals meaning that there has been an average goals per game of 2.65.

And in the 42 meetings in which Southampton had been the home side, there has been 114 goals scored meaning that there has been an average goals per game of 2.71.

Both sets of data suggest that the game on Wednesday night should have at least a couple of goals between the two sides.

Southampton vs Liverpool Current Betting Odds Market

Southampton are ever so slightly favourites to win this game with the online bookmakers and you can obtain a best price of 13/8 with BetVictor – £50 Free Bets for New Customers.

The Draw does look a possibility in this match and I would be tempted to have a bet on it possibly as a cover with best available odds of 12/5 with Bet365 – £200 Matched Bonus Bets for New Customers.

Liverpool are just behind the market to win this game due to the fact that they are the away team. The best price is 9/5 with Coral – Deposit £5 & Receive £20 Free Bets for New Customers.

Southampton vs Liverpool Free Sports Bets, Tips & Predictions

I think this will be close game but I think Liverpool will edge it as they are the team on form going into the game. Liverpool have conceded more than one goal in a game just once since Klopp took over and I expect that to be once in eleven after this match as Southampton have managed just two goals in their last three matches. I think this match will suit Liverpool because Southampton like to have possession and Liverpool will allow them to but I think Southampton will struggle to score past a solid Liverpool team, I see the final result being either 0-1, 1-1 or 1-2.

And as for my saver I have decided to go for a draw as I have a feeling that Liverpool will either take this match in extra-time or on penalties. If you want to increase the odds then I would recommend going for the 1-1 in this match.

Southampton vs Liverpool Banker & Saver Tips

Grab Yourself Some Capital One Cup Football Free Bets !

Capital One Cup Free Sports Bets for your weekend’s betting action. Our list below shows our top recommended Free Bets Offers and Promotions available from the online bookmakers.

Grab £200 Free Bets Today at Bet365 : Register an Account with Bet365 and Receive upto £200 Free Bets Today ! : Register Account
Betfred - £25 Free Bets Today
£30 Free Bets Today at Betfred ! : Become a new customer with Betfred. Bet just £10 and receive £30Free Bets Today when Registering a New Account ! : Register Account
Sky Bet - £5 Free Bets Each and Every Week
£20 Free Bets Today, Plus £5 Each and Every Week ! : Register as a new customer with Sky Bet. Deposit just £5 and receive £20 Free Bets, Plus £5 Each and Every Week ! : Register Account
Paddy Power - £30 Free Bets Today
£30 Free Bets Today at Paddy Power : Become a new customer with Paddy Power. Bet just £10 and receive £30 Free Bets Today ! : Register Account

Filed Under: 2015-16 SeasonFootballLeague Cup

Tags:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.